The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford offcampus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The scenario above has some argumentative statements which might seem plausible at first glance but eventually after perusing the situation, the flaws in the write up is found. The need of new dormitories in Buckingham College is arguable and the reasons for which the statements are flawed, are mentioned below.

Firstly, there is no clear indication of any survey result or finding that, the students who are enrolling in Buckingham college will prefer to live in a dormitory at the same percentage as the previous students' rate of using the dormitory. For this reason the first statement is illogical. Moreover, it is mnetioned that the enrollment will increase dramatically and eventually will be doubled after 50 year and based on this infromation the author has posited that the college needs more dormitories for their current students. How can we infer that the existing dormitories are insufficient for the students who are already enrolled in that institution? For the huge time gap it is not a feasible idea to build more dormitories now. These two statements could have been strengthened if there was a solid information about the prospective students' preference to enroll the institution with the dormitory service. The second point could have been more logical if it was incorporated that the existing number of dormitories are not enough for the students.

Secondly, it is mentioned that the average price of the houses have increased in recent days and for this reason students will find it difficult to afford the off-campus housing facilties. The serious flaw of this statement is that, the author has assumed that rent of each and every apartment has grown. The students might still find houses which are way more cheaper and affordable. Furthermore, the upcoming students can find homes outside the town. They can easily try to find out housing facilties near the campus which might be in the affordability range of a student. Another irrational way of thinking is, more students will be attracted if tyhe dormitories are built in an attractive manner. The propspective students might not bother about the aesthetics of the buildings at all. Students might consider the quality of the education, the overall ranking of the institute, the effectiveness of getting job after completing the study from this college. Thus, it will be imprudent to think that more students will be eager or encouraged if the buildings are built in attractive way. If there was an indication that the students are preferring beautiful housing over the other more crucial factors, then the statement could have been considered as a rational one.

In a nutshell, if surveys and research are done properly and rationally then the proposed statement of building more dormitories will be a logical and prudent decision to be implemented.