The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplier of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

Five years ago, a company manufactures men's clothing had discontinued production of alpaca overcoat due to difficulties in obtaining reliable supplier of high-quality wool fabric. Now they have new fabric supplier, so the new vice president of Sartorian wrote memo to resume the production of aplaca overcoat. The vice president assumes that there is pent-up demand of alpaca overcoat which neither they nor other supplier fulfill, and the cost will significantly high. Despite the assumptions made by arguer, the argument id fallacious in several respects.

The argument has been rendered weak due to lack of supporting evidences and information relating to market. In the argument the arguer talked about the demand of aplaca overcoat will be very high as it was five years ago, and people will ready to pay more than before but there is no evidence related to market situation. For example, I want to restart my tailoring business and assumes that all older customers return to me than it is not possible because there is strong competition in market. New tailors have started their shops in last few years and my regular customers may satisfied with their services. Similarly, in last five years there may be other companies who started the manufacturing of alpaca overcoat or similar to it, so the assumption is not based on concrete evidences.

Additionally, the assumption that there would be pent-up demand of the overcoat is also fallacious because people find alternate options to fulfil the demand. In five years, public surely find some other product in place of aplaca overcoat. as mentioned before the company must analyze the market situations before taking risk. Furthermore, the market rate of manufacturing of product fluctuates with economic changes. In last five years the cost of raw material also increased significantly and the overcoat will be costlier than previously it was. As the price rises the demand will increases is opposing the demand principal. The arguer said that the customers should be willing to pay significantly higher price but if the public has cheaper products then they will not buy alpaca overcoat. therefore, the assumptions have lack of credible evidences in its support.

Finally, the last assumption was the people are wearing still same fashioned clothing and like the overcoat also. As the technologies changed very speedily, the fashion also changes. People use to wear different clothes daily to make them feel different every morning. The five-year period is very much to assume that there will not shifting the style of overcoat. Clothing style changes with the movie’s release because as the film stars wear clothes in the film people starts to find similar styles in the market. So, the arguer must research the market conditions and fashion before manufacturing of alpaca overcoat.

In the view of above, it is evident that the argument is unjustifiable. The company must analyze the situations of business before jumping to the conclusion.