The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The planning department of the city of Trasopolis want to repeat urban renewal program in other area also. Ten years ago, the city was adapted for industrial purpose and converted a large housing area for industries. Now the planning department wants to use remaining area for the same. To convert residential area to industrial the writer assumes three major assumptions which is not appropriate to take further decisions. There are following points which helps to analyze the assumptions before taking decision.

Moreover, the writer assumes that due to construction of several factories in last ten-year, the crime rate decline. Here the writer did not mention any research data or not even discussed with evidences. It may plausible that the writer said based on his own experience but there are so many crimes take place which don't even informed to police. So, without any substantial data we can’t make it strong assumption to convert the residential area into industrial area. The writer also wrote about the increase in tax revenue of the entire city increases. Tax collection is also acceptable until and unless the writer mention records of that area.

Furthermore, the writer only talks about advantages and ignores the other side of plan. There are several factories were constructed it is clear but how many are in running or in good state is not mentioned. The planning department looking for their own profit from tax revenue which is not enough to run a city effectively. Residents must transfer from their land because of governments notice but if the factories are not successfully running in the city then it's not a good plan. The department should do polite study for their plan then only it will be profitable to all.

Additionally, if there are several factories were constructed then the workers and staff members will be resident in opposite side city. To construct factories on opposite side of the city will increases difficulties for workers and staff member. They must come from far distance which make them tired and decrease the productivity of employees. The writer also mentioned that some houses and apartments are unoccupied and it's easy to adapt the land. There may possible that the people already shifted to other city because of pollution of factories. It may be possible the market of city not stay rich and people get difficulty to stay without fulfilling requirements. Despite of adapting opposite area of city in industrial area the department should make it healthy residential area for workers.

Finally, the writer's assumption has different loopholes which discussed in above discussion and concluded that the writer should analyze the project before applicable it. And do a research work to analyze the problems of that area then take decision of opposite side of the city of Trasopolis.