The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the memo states that Bower builder should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all homes since the homes built by their competitor Domus construction which have such features sold much faster and at higher prices. The argument is based on unwarranted assumptions. If the assumptions prove invalid, then the argument falls apart.

Firstly, the author of the memo assumes that homes built by Domus construction have been sold faster and higher prices than the national average because they have a large family room and a large kitchen. The assumption does not take all factors which affect the higher prices into consideration. The author does not tell if the homes built by Bower builders are sold at higher prices than the national average. The homes built by the Domus construction might be built faster and the people prefer it so that they can move to their new homes quickly. The author does not compare the size of family and kitchens built by Bower Builders and Domus construction. For instance, Bower Builders might have built homes with large family room and a large kitchen. In the above cases, the author might be taking wrong decision increasing the size of family rooms and kitchens in all homes. If there is some proper evidence that the homes built by Domus construction are sold faster and at higher prices than the national average, then it supports the argument.

Secondly, the author assumes that the homes built by Bower Builders can come at the expense of dining room since many of their recent buyers do not need a separate dining room for family meals. The author assumes that the same implies for future buyers and most of their buyers do not need dining room. For instance, few number of buyers might have bought homes built by Bower Builders recently. In this case, the company will be making incorrect decision increasing the size of family rooms and kitchens taking the recent buyers' decision into consideration.

Thirdly, the author assumes that their sales and profits will increase if Bower Builders increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all homes. There is no evidence supporting the assumption. Even if many people prefer large family room and a large kitchen, they should not increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens for all homes because there is no evidence that most of the people will buy homes from Bower Builders.

The argument is based on unwarranted assumptions. There should be some concrete evidence supporting the argument that the sales and profits will definitely increase if Bower Builders increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens for the homes they build.