The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a manufacturing company.

"During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of this argument relates the safety of workers with amount of rest. This argument looks fine on overview, but fails to explain exact relation between number of accidents and amount of rest taken by workers.

First, the author states that, there are 30 percent more on-job accidents happened as compared to nearby Panoply Industries. Author does not provide the number of workers in both industries. It may be possible that newly opened Panoply Industry has less number of workers and thus the increase in number of on-the-job accidents could not be qualified as sufficient.

Second, author explains that Panoply produces similar product but does not compare the amount of products produced by both the companies. It may be the case that, Panoply is producing less number of products and that’s why it does not require their workers to work more and which can be the reason of less accidents in Panoply.

In conclusion, this argument fails to state the exact relation between increased number of on-job-accidents to the amount of rest required for the worker.