The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In an increasingly competitive market, corporations are constantly challenged to create business strategies to increase profits as well as efficiency. The presented memo recommends, based on a customer survey, that the corporation discontinue the Endure manufacturing process to increase profits. While the vice president’s effort to review the current business practice in an attempt to increase profits is commended, the argument cannot be fully substantiated as it rests upon a few unwarranted assumptions. Had he or she reviewed this business proposal in consideration of the points discussed below, the vice president could make a more convincing case to ensure the projected success of the company.

The primary shortcoming of this business proposal is its reliance on the customer survey as the basis of the suggested change. While the survey results demonstrate that the average customer purchases new Dura-Socks every three months, implying that the company’s touted two-year durability is no longer appealing, we do not know whether the survey conducted is fully representative of Dura-Sock’s client base. Without more specific information on the methodology, for instance, there remains the possibility that only one percentage of the company’s clients purchase new socks every three months. If this were to be the case, the company could potentially lose the majority of its client base that may like the socks precisely because of their durability. Therefore, it is recommended that the vice president provides more information to prove that this survey is an accurate reflection of the company’s solid client base.

Another point in the memo that requires a careful analysis is the finding that northeastern US cities most value stylish appearance and availability in many colors. The implication here is that the preference identified in this largest market can be applied to other markets, which cannot be fully supported without evidence. To illustrate, demographics in other areas may appreciate Dura-Socks for their durability as they are more cost-effective than other competitors’ products. As market preferences are shaped by a number of area-specific factors, such as average income, weather condition, and competitors, it appears unwise to conclude without data that what is true in one area can be generalized to other areas. Even though northeastern US cities may be its biggest market, the vice president may benefit from further examining and demonstrating whether this finding can be extrapolated to other cities.

Finally, building on the points above whose validity is already questionable, the vice president proceeds to conclude that the discontinuation of the Endure manufacturing process will result into increased profits. This recommendation is far-fetched as it overlooks potential losses associated with this process. For example, the new market segment (i.e. one in which the average customer prefers stylishness and variety in colors) may be very competitive, where the manufacturers make only 1% of profit margins on average. In addition to this potential loss in profitability, the discontinuation may accompany costly reconstruction of its plant. Without a rigorous cost-benefit analysis ruling out these concerns, the recommendation remains very unconvincing, possibly leading to a significant profit loss despite the identification of this potential new market to tap into. It would be advisable, then, for the vice president to include this relevant information in the memo.

In summary, while the business strategy is not entirely invalid, it requires further information and clarity as discussed above. If the vice president provided relevant information, including the survey’s methodology, market preferences in other areas, and a cost-benefit analysis in the case of the discontinuation of the Endure manufacturing process, the recommendation would be further strengthened and instrumental in the assessment of whether it results into the projected increase in the company’s profits.