The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"WWAC must change from its current rock-music format because the number of listeners has been declining, even though the population in our listening area has been growing. The population growth has resulted mainly from people moving to our area after their retirement, and we must make listeners of these new residents. But they seem to have limited interest in music: several local stores selling recorded music have recently closed. Therefore, just changing to another kind of music is not going to increase our audience. Instead, we should adopt a news-and-talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In order to increase audience of WWAC radio, which is specialized in rock-music formal, the radio station should adopt a news-and-talk format. The originator of the memorandum buttresses this conclusion by several evdidences which should be carefully scrutinized in order to gauge the soundness of the recommendation.

First of all, the memorandum asserts that music has lost is popularity in the area due to the fact that several stores which are situated in the town has recently closed. However, does this fact have only one possible explanation? May other factors lead to the closing of the stores? In fact, the author's point of view has no solid evidences which convince us in his position, for instance, perhaps, the cease of work of the stores may be caused by decline in local economy. If the country or the region has suffer a stagnation a significant number of small businesses such as music stores may face finiancial problems. Moreover, some general trends such as spreading of the internet and some internet sources with allow donwloading music content from the web may lead to the dramatic fall in sales of CDs. In this case, the closing of stores is the sign of time which cannot be extrapolate on popularity of music among local dwellers.

Besides, the argument avers that local population like talk and news radio stations. This statement is based on the fact that radio stations which adhere to this format become increasingly popular. However, how big the audience of news radio is? How long will it keep enhancing? Perhaps, the enhancement of numer of listeners will be soon stopped. The author could have made this argument better had he demonstrate what percentage of population is listening the station and how long this trend will last. Till we do not know this information, author's assumption cannot be accepted as a supporting evidence.

Moreover, the memorandum maintains that changing of radio's format is the best way to improve its audience. However, we may assert that for instance, translation of the radio into the internet may be more effective.

In conclusion, despite the fact that author of the argument believes that only changing of the station's format may improve its situation, he has failed to support this statement properly and therefore consequences of implementation of the policy is unclear.