The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that Movies Galore will revert its decline on profits by reducing expenses on its ten stores is not entirely, logically convincing because it fails to mention a significant amount of evidence.

The first piece of evidence that we would need to evaluate the argument is about the hours that costumers usually rent more movies in all ten stores. If does not mean that the result observed at downtown store will be the same for the other nine stores. For example, if one of the stores showed that costumers rent more movies between 6pm and 9pm, they will lose more money instead saving if, closing the store at 6pm.

The second piece of evidence that might help us to understand the argument is about the movies that are being rented the most. We should understand if costumers are renting more old movies or the new ones. For instance, If we know that costumers are renting new movies, as much as, they are renting the old ones, the store would not improve its profits eliminating movies released more than five years ago.

Finally, in order to complete understand the argument, we would need to learn more about the opinion of the costumers. We should understand why they rent movies from Movies Galore? What costumes would like to see at Galore store to rent more movies there? For example, if we learn that costumers want a large variety of movies instead of good prices, the store could change its strategy to get more costumers renting movies there.

I

n conclusion, we would need more evidence to fully understand the argument. We would need to know more about the hours that costumers rent more movies, the movies that are rented the most, and to understand the actions that would make costumers to rent more movies at Galore store.