The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 PM rather than 9:00 PM and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a memorundum from the owner of movies galore, it is stated that to increase the profit margin of rental stores by decreasing operating expenses and also reducing the stock by removing all movies that are released more than five years ago. there is an evidence that in downtown marston store by decreasing

closing

time from 9 to 6 pm, the operating costs are declined. this helped in increase of profits to the store. However, before this can be fully evaluated, the following questions must be answered.

Firstly, are the type of people in downtown marston and people near other store are of similar qualities? it means that are people nearby other stores likely to have same interests as people of downtown. there may be variation in timings of their occupations. due to this, the people may be interested to watch evening shows more rather than before 6 pm. if the stores are

close

at 6 pm there may be decline in customers in such places.this results in decrease of business. if the above scenario is true, the evidence doesn't hold water.

Secondly, are there any new stores that entered into the market? if there are any new theatres in the same city people may just start attracting to them. For example, if there is new theatre with good ambience and quality with less price, people may start going to that theatre as it is better option than movies galore stores this results in decline of customers and reduction of profits. if the above is true, the conclusion gets weakened.

Thirdly, is the quality of stores is in an appreciable way? if the movies in our stores are not according to people's interests of particular place, then it will make them uninterested to visit the stores. even if the ambience and maintenance of stores is not in a proper way, watchers think that it is an unhealthy place. As health is the major priority, they prefer to not visit our stores. if the above scenario is true, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument doesn't hold good.

In my conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. if the author is able to answer the above questions with suitable evidence, the is is possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to decrease the operating expenses and eliminate the stock of movies that are more than five years ago which helps in increase of customers and rapid burgeon of profits.