The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer argues that construction of new electricity plants would not be necessary since energy demand is going to decrease. It is based on the premises that consumers are now more energy conscious, manufacturers are marketing those products that are energy efficient and solar technologies are available for home heating. The argument seems true at first sight, but on deeper analysis it becomes clear that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into account, leading to a number of unstated assumptions and logical flaws.

First such assumption is related to the sampling error which states that writer has assumed the efficacy of surveys for the areas covered by his company. However, there may be the case that those surveys covered only few areas which are not being served by his company at present and moreover, it is likely that survey showed the results for another country. For example, the study conducted by World Bank in 2018 on “Ease of Doing Business” showed that India has improved its ranking by 50 points in the period from 2014 to 2018. But the application of these rankings did not match with the reality since study of World Bank covered only two cities where business proportion is insignificant to the business proportion in other parts of India. Thus, study was not useful for the investors to judge the business friendly environment of India. Therefore, in order to overcome this flaw, the writer should check the areas covered in the survey.

Second assumption is related to the analogy which states that the writer has assumed that new technology, such as solar heating is available, would reduce the demand for electricity. However, there may be the case that though the technology is available but consumers are not willing to use it because of lack of reviews and it may also likely that since this is new technology, it is not accessible by large number of consumers in the next 2 or 3 years. For example, the study conducted by Solar Manufacturing Plan Association of India in 2014 concluded that though India has generated sufficient capacity to serve solar power needs of consumer, but due to initial higher costs involved in installing the solar panels, consumers are not willing to use it unless supported by Government through subsidies. Thus, in order to strengthen the argument, the writer should confirm the willingness of consumers for accepting this new technology.

Finally, the assumption is related to cause and effect which states that the writer has assumed arbitrarily that energy is required for only home appliances and home heating, which would reduce the demand for electricity as manufacturers are marketing energy efficient products. However, there may be the case that though the consumers may be willing to buy these energy efficient appliances, but their demand for electricity may remain same or may increase since they are moving towards electric vehicle. For example, the study conducted by Green Climate Fund in 2016 argued that though different Governments all around the world are all working towards electric vehicle in order to address the problem of pollution, but it would lead to sudden and unpredictable increase in demand for energy. Therefore, the writer of the argument should demonstrate that energy demand in specific area is due to home appliances only.

While concluding, after close examination of the argument presented, it is apparent that the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on certain unwarranted assumptions. The recommendations in the above paragraphs show how the argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound in order to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.