Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that the plan of opening up a new store in Plainsville should be successful since it cites the evidence of Plainsville consisting of people living healthy lives, increase in sales of exercise shoes and clothing and increase in membership of health clubs and requirement of school children to enrol in fitness program. However, before the argument is evaluated comprehensively, certain unstated assumptions must be examined since as of now, the argument is lacking in substantiation.

First of all, are healthy people those that buy health products? In other words, the argument assumes that this town has people that are living healthy lives, therefore, are buying health products. But it may not be the case. Since, it may transpire that people are healthy because the environmental factors such as clean air, clean water, with no/less traffic, and lack of nuisance present in crowded towns are found in Plainsville. Further, it may also find that people here in Plainsville are not buying any health products but are consuming or using natural resources such as spices (coriander) to keep the health under check or this town has a large number of people working in health departments, therefore, have an access to health related information and thus, avoiding bad habits such as drinking alcohol etc. If any of the above instances were true, then the argument does not hold the water.

Secondly, are sales of running shoes and exercise clothing high because people are health conscious in Plainsville? In other words, the argument has assumed that people are buying sports gears and related clothing because they are inclined to healthy living. However, it may be the case that the price of these sports and health products are at the lowest among all other towns of this country. Thus, people are buying from Plainsville because of low price but they are all living in other towns. Further, it may also be the case that people who are buying these sports and health products are actually not using it, rather they are trading them for higher sales and profits since the price of these products in other towns are very high, therefore, they are buying from here in Plainsville but selling them as merchants in other towns. If any of the above examples held merit, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Thirdly, are any competitor present in Plainsville? Or are higher memberships in health clubs result of people becoming health conscious? In other words, the argument has assumed that there is no competitor of health products in Plainsville or even if, it is there, the people are not buying from it. However, it may be the case that the existing supplier of these products is providing sports gear and health products at very low price which this store may not be able to match. Further, the argument has assumed that people are enrolling in health clubs and a requirement of school children to enrol in one of these are because they are now health conscious. However, it may be the case that people are moving to this new sensation because the local government has promulgated the law requiring school children and adults to enrol in one of these at free of cost and at terms such as all equipment including sports gear and health products will be provided by Government at free. Therefore, unless the argument is fully representative, it cannot be used to support the conclusion.

Therefore, while concluding, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the argument is able to offer more examination of facts, perhaps in the form of market research covering presence of competitor, price charged by the competitor, motive behind such enrolment in health clubs, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the argument.