The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric

power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy.

At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as

refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a

decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are

readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand

for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric

generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs,

construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the

implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This argument conclude that there is no need for constructing new generating plants for the electric power company, since the requirement is not so much. Based on the fact that individuals may want to save energy and technologies may help to reduce energy cost and heat loss, the suggestion seems reasonable. However, this statement is rife with holes, the author should evaluate the assumptions to establish the argument strongly.

Citing surveys of home owners, the author indicate the residents would like to reduce the energy cost. It is not clear, however, the validity and scope of the survey. For example, the survey could have only asked residents who are in lack of money so they are forced to save energy, but in most city, they are the minority. In addition, although they are considering to this plan, they may not do it. Even if the survey’s sample is representative and they have enough executive force, we may find that it is exactly the high level consume that make them want to do this. Unless the survey is fully representative and informant’s motivation is cleared, it can not be used to back the author’s argument effectively.

As for the objective part, the author illuminate that the cost of energy today is less than the past, and the requirement is well met in a long term. But when mention that our electric appliances are more efficient, why don’t we think about another fact that there are more quantity of a myriad of appliances working today. A family may only has refrigerator and television decades ago, however, nearly every family own their computers and air conditioners(some time even not only one in a house), which will definitely increase the power consumption. In this situation, though the power used to keep heat is reduced, other needs run in opposite direction. Since the kinds and range of applications is not monotonous, the author’s demonstration is untenable.

Another site of technology development should be taken in to consideration. On the one hand, it is likely to spring up emergency that did not occur before, using and transporting power differently from the past, thus may result in a surge of power demand. On the other hand, a retain of equipment may lower the acquisition cost, but it may not save the using cost. As time goes on, these three generating plants may pay the debt of nature, and can not support the demand of city plausibly, beside it maybe too expensive to maintain. Without ruling out the possibilities, the planning department could not undeniably implicate no demand in construction of new plants.