The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full.

We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of Health Naturally recommends opening a store in Plainsville. This step should bring company profits. The writer avers that chain's stores usually lucrative in areas where dwellers adhere to leading healthy lives and the Plainsville has many such residents. The statement is based on evidence which is connected with the argument by several assumptions which should be carefully scrutinized in order to give a comprehensive estimation of the soundness of the argument.

The first evidence which is given to us is that local merchants state that sales of running shoes and equipment for sport activities are higher than usual. Firstly, the originator assumes that these purchasers will use this equipment for sport activities. However, perhaps people bought these shoes because they are convenient for everyday usage, for instance, for fishing or gardening. Moreover, the bought exercise equipment may not be used by people, in fact, many people purchase some sport equipment and then they have never used it. Secondly, even if we accept for granted that these people will be engaged in some sport activities, they may not be concerned with healthy live style. Perhaps they want to be attractive for their partners or use sport to alleviate stress.

The second evidence which is shared with us is that the local health club has training and aerobics classes are full. Firstly, we can from wording assume that the town has only one sport club and perhaps it has a small number of memberships available, consequently, a number of people who participate to sport may be negligible; furthermore, the fact that many people have bought membership does not inevitably mean that these purchasers will be inescapably engaged in sport activities. For instance, they purchase it because of social pressure or as a gift for a friend. However, even if we accept that writer's statement is true, the people who visit the local health in particular ones who engaged in training and aerobics classes may be concerned with their appearance rather than with their health. Some of these people want to lose weight and someone is going to increase mass and volume of muscles. Therefore, if they are not interested in sticking to healthy life-style, they may not become a clients of Healthy Naturally.

Finally, the arguer claims that the town has a new program which promotes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age. However, this program may not bring expected results, for instance, these pupils may protest and avoid exercises. At the same time, even if this program is successful, perhaps these students will prefer to do exercises and be healthy. In other words, these students may not demonstrate expected behavior.

In conclusion, the vice president believes that opening a chain store in the town will be profitable; unfortunately, he or she does not manage to create a strong support for this claim and perhaps the success of the store in the area is highly questionable.