The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Here, the vice president of health naturally wants to open their new branch in Plainsville. To support his suggestion, he also gives some information that residents of Plainsville are highly concerned with leading health style. So, they can built their office in this city and can get maximum profit from it. Although, this kind of information, I refute this claim. It has many loopholes which make this argument unconvincing.

Initially, the vice president says that Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are all time highs. Although, this statement might be true, it has not given numerical data and any specific company's selling details. He also condones the company which are already doing their business in Plainsville. This company might have relation with customers so strong that customers might not go to other shops to buy health related products. If this actually happens, the vice president's claim might bankrupt their company. Hence, the vice president should consider monopoly of the company which are already existed in Plainsville.

Secondly, the vice president assumes that their new branch in Plainsville will make profit. But to bolster his claim, he should consider cost regarding construction of their new branch. This simply means that he should give estimation of total cost to establish their branch in Plainsville. So, the authority-president of company- can take fair disicion about construction of new branch in Plainsville. The vice president should also show that how much reliable merchants report is? What kind of data he considers during making claim that this new branch will be profitable to their company?

At the end, the vice president cites that the school children should participate in the health program which emphasizes the benefits of exercise at early age. The vice president makes here the biggest assumption. At the time, when you are planning to open new office, you can not make assumption like this. One should consider the worst situations that might be emerged from this claim. So, you can calculate maximum risk that you will take to construct new branch. The author should give information without considering assumptions.

In conclusion, I just want to tell that the vice president's claim is full of loopholes, flaws and assumptions. So, on the basis of information that he gives, one should not take risk to build new branch in Plainsville. If they really want to open, they should remove these assumptions, flaws and get some numerical data to make their claim strong.