The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The statement may seem plausible at first glance. However, most of the contents are based on unwarranted assumptions which undermine the validity of the claim.

First of all, it is said that the Mozart School of Music should be the first choice since they accept students at all ability and age levels, especially without audition. However, when there is no audition in place, it also indicates the students' skill levels are difficult to be identified in the beginning. Therefore, students with different level of skills will be mixed into the same class which may harm the learning results since students will not learn the equivalent skills that fit to their own levels.

Additionally, the faculties are formed by some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. However, it wrongly assumes that people who are good at playing music are also good instructors. Counterexamples are easy to be identified. For instance, lots of professors who are prestigious in their own research are actually poor in giving courses. Hence, the faculty's eminent performance in their own music field doesn't guarantee good teaching quality nor the learning outcomes that the students may experience.

Last, it refers to certain well-known musicians who have taken courses in The Mozart School of Music to prove their quality of training. Nonetheless, it is doubtful to make this causal relationship without any other evidence. In other words, there are numerous reasons to turn a person into famous musicians. Therefore, it is problematic to solely contribute those musicians' success to the training of the schools and leverage it as an evidence to underscore the school's quality. For instance, though Bill Gates has studied in Standford, it is unsuitable to claim that students who attend Stanford will become Bill Gates.

To sum up, the questionable assumptions in terms of neglecting the negative effects of accepting students without audition, wrongly assuming professional musicians are also good instructors, as well as the unsuitable causal relationship between distinguished alumni and the learning quality that the music school can offer.