The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The above issue provides a view about the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. As firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol as well as firstborn humans also do the same. This primes the body for increased activity, as do their younger siblings.

However, these results can’t be the same all time. The survey was done only between eighteen monkeys. For example, it’s not necessary that the habit that the eighteen monkeys possess must the other monkeys have to possess the same habit. In every survey, the survey must be proceeded at least among 100 people so that the result come out must be veritable and cogent. But if the survey is done in between only few people the result of the survey is equivocal. As in the above issue the survey is offered only between eighteen monkeys so there are higher possibilities that the results came out is not accurate.

Another important factor is the health condition of all the creatures in the universe is not same. The health condition is varied from person to person. The immune system of one person may possess higher quality of symptoms and other may face difficult immune system containing various problems and difficulties. So for that reason it may possible for some monkeys as well as humans that they can’t able produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations during their first pregnancy period. And it’s possible that some monkeys possess high level of physical condition that they can able to produce high levels of cortisol during their second pregnancy period. So it may possible with high immune and respiration system they can able to create high levels of cortisol.

In conclusion, it can be posited that as pregnancy is a health condition and it’s circumstances vary from creature to creature. Only on the basis of a survey it can’t be stated that monkeys and human can able to produce high levels of cortisol only in stimulating situations of their first pregnancy period. Now the medical technology is very advanced and it provides some revolutionary results. So by the grace of almighty and also the revolution of technology it can be possible to produce high levels of cortisol in the next number of pregnancy. And only a few survey can’t able to determine the health condition of all the monkeys and humans.