The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

"The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificient bird population"

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that the sale of a particular small land should have not been allowed because the buyer intends to build a hotel in that area and this would indubitably damage the environment, and thus the local economy. Yet, there are a few unwarranted assumption that need to be addressed in order for this argument to be valid.

The first unstated assumption is that this sale will not, in anyway, benefit their community. A hotel is a business venture by providing accommodation for travelers. For example, the population of this city might be dense, hotels scarce and the accommodation prices high. A new hotel could compete with other hotels, if there are any in this city, and lower the prices thus attracting new tourists. Even if we assume that the development of the hotel will harm the environment, this action might actually be beneficial to the local economy.

Another unwarranted assumption is that a small hotel built on a small land will harm birds place of living even though the company has promised to take necessary measures to prevent this. Maybe the company's promise is legally binding, that it is written on their contract or is overseen through the governor's office, not a verbal promise to the locale. Thus, if the company voids this deal, even if it was verbally conducted, the group can then take action. They have every reason to be skeptical about this sale, about unless they can provide proof that it will indubitably harm them, this argument falls apart.

Lastly, another unstated assumption is that this sanctuary is essential for the birds living in that area. We do not have any information about the landscape. For example, the land it might not be a jungle or any other area lush with vegetation and trees; thus, building a hotel on it will not ruin the birds' nests. If the hotel is built in the city, which might already have ruined the birds' living place, there is almost nothing concerning about it.

In conclusion, unless the protection group substantiates some of the logical flaws and unwarranted assumptiong in their argument, the residents do not need to worry.