An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

At the first glance, while being able to see a doctor's patient record may seem as a reasonable demand for a patient, there are a few subtleties that one needs to consider which are of significant importance.

If we assume that a patient is not from the healthcare team including nurses, pharmacists, etc, we would then deduct that she is layman in understanding medical jargon. Thus, if she sees "dyspnea" in a doctor's history, she would not understand it. Thanks to the power of the Internet, she can search this word and more often than not, Google will tell her what dyspnea is; this data is probably gathered from Wikipedia. Assuming this data is correct, this process may help the patient understand the doctor's area of expertise; however, one subtlety is that she might attribute her symptom to being "dyspnea" but actually it is not. In other words, the translational process that happens from understanding the doctor's expertise to correlating that to your own issue is faulty to a great degree. For example, she might think she has dyspnea and think it is not concerning, but it is really a life-threatening respiratory symptom if assessed by a doctor. Therefore, although quite a reasonable demand at first, this would yield to self-diagnosis which is discouraged. This is all because the patient is not familiar with the medical terminology.

The self-diagnosis could potentially lead to self-treatment or the patient not taking any action. For instance, she might think she just needs a cough syrup, while it is an infection that requires urgent attention. Or she might think her problem is not serious, that her left hand ache, which is a warning sign for heart attack, is just due to overwork. Then she would not seek emergency action.

True, the doctor could manifest his or her patient history by simple terms. But it does not takes a long time for the sick individual to find out that one cardiologist and one orthopedist have both listed "hand ache" in their history. The important issue to note is that even "simple" symptoms such as nausea are prevalent in many disorders. This would confuse and frustrate the patient and is not of any help. The best course of action is to seek a general physician, which can refer the individual to a specialist if necessary.

In conclusion, while having the comfort to just find out what kind of patients a doctor treats seems logical, it is far more complicated and nuanced than that as described above. Not having this access could actually save patients lives.