Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Long has been the debate about whether or not higher education should be free. Graduate school is expensive even for wealthy families, so many believe that governments need to take the burden and finance universities instead of students and their families. Some argue, however, that advanced education is inherently extra costly and by making it free, universities would ultimately be closed down, running out of means to pay for salaries and conduct research. But this cost is negligible in the grand scheme of things.

Financial issues should not rob someone of pursuing their education. The cost of attending university, for example, for a PhD is roughly 300000 dollars on average. Even for the affluent families, this is a hefty price. Therefore, governments have to allocate funds to remove this obstacle. Granted, in the short term, it might seem as very expensive, but in the long-run, this would pay off. For instance, a talented student who is able to follow his talent in the graduate school because it is free, can go on to become a pioneer in his or her field. If this example is put into perspective for all blessed students who want to continue their education, it would benefit a country as a whole whether it is science or arts. Because of free education, there is no barrier for possible geniuses and that country will excel in all areas, and financially as well.

Even if we disregard the aforementioned advantage, in order for the students and their families to finance higher education, they essentially need to take loans, at least in most of the cases. This means that in the future, a graduated student is already in debt and has no job. It is a serious flaw in the design of paid education system. Additionally, the loan’s interest rates is increased if not paid in due, so the student will be in default. This is a catch-22 situation, where an individual wants to follow their dream and make money by doing they are interested in, but she is obligated to take a loan since higher education is not free of charge. It is a downward spiral.

Financing colleges could be achieved, for example, by giving grants through various organizations as there are many universities today that are run in this way. But it is only for the prospective research projects, not tuition, staff and faculty salary, etc. While it might not seem feasible because of high numbers, this money is not comparable to the budget of other expensive sectors, such as military. One could argue that military budget is more important; however, countries do not go to war physically in the modern age. They do it through different means, such as having a more educated population.

In summary, while it seems unachievable at first, when closely examined, higher education in universities and colleges should be made free because it has long-term benefits, but in the long run.