The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given recommendation planning committee talks about decrease in birth rate which was only one-half than five years ago. The committee wants to cut the fund from school education, athletic playing filed and from recreational facilities. The argument made by committee planning for ten years budget for the city of Calatrava seems to be impractical and short-sighted.

First of all, the planning committee assumes that the birth rate will again decrease in next five years or the decline will be constant for next ten years. There is no evidence like population survey or governments population census which show decrease in birth rate. The sudden decline in the population can be true but then there may be several reasons for that. One of them can an epidemic in the city and it is major reason low birth rate. Without thinking about reason for downfall in birthrate the committee takes decision to reduce the funds from education of the students which is not appropriate in any manner. If we assume that for a while the birth rate will decline, even then the remaining fund allotted to education can be used for innovation.

Moreover, Education is backbone of any society it accelerates the development. Today’s developing countries spend money for research on education system and make it strong. Therefore, planning committee should not cut the fund for education system and plan to spend it in systematic way. A family also tries to spend more on education of the children and for that parents try to withdraw from other expenses. Therefore reducing funds from school system might put a burden on parents.

Additionally, the committee thinks of reducing funds for athletic playing fields and recreational facilities which is also impractical. Every child should practice in routine so that they stay physically as well as mentally healthy. The city should promote athletics and motivate the children to join clubs. In every society government tries to give larger benefits to population belonging to childhood. That’s why the recommendation made by planning committee does not have solid reasoning.

Also, the committee focuses on the adult population and plans to spend funds on programs used primarily by adults. Spending the funds on the adult programs may not be needed as they already might have sufficient funds. And in next ten years there might not be enough increase in adult population as the plans are quite short term.

However, one might argue that committee should work on practical tasks like basic living need of the population then work on programs for athletics. The basic facilities should reach to all so that the city gets developed. But as stated in earlier points it should not be done by cutting funds from student population.

Finally, on the basis of reasons discussed above we can conclude that it is a bad idea to transfer funds from education to other accounts. And the committee should take into account other outcome which might be a bad side effect of this decision.