The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this memo the writer claims that Salicylates which is from the same family as aspirin can cause to reduction in headaches and concludes that as it is being used in food-processing industry it will reduce the amount of headaches in future. However, he has some assumptions that makes this argument a flawed one. First, assuming that if two chemicals are in the same family, their function will be similar is an assumption which is not always true. Second, other factors that may had effects on their twenty-year study are ignored by referring reduction in headaches to a sole reason which is using Salicylates by food-processing companies. Third, the writer supposes that food-processing company's workers acts like a pharmacist and measure amount of every flavor and matter which is used in their products. Mentioned reasons will be elaborated in the upcoming paragraphs.

To begin, the writer believes that similar chemical family leads to similarity in function. However, this is not always true. For instance, NaCl and HCl are both acids and their chemical structure looks the same. Nevertheless, one of them is salt which is eaten and another is a highly acidic substance which is lethal. That is to say, if Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin it will not guarantee that Salicylates will prevent headaches as aspirin do.

Next, it seems that some factors are ignored in the twenty-years study. First, the writer is linking two independent facts to make a conclusion. If food-processing companies are using more Salicylates in their production it doesn't mean that people who participated in the study were using those type of materials. Perhaps most of them were vegetarians who used organic foods without any flavors or preservatives. Thus, this substance couldn't have any effects on them. Another point is that, the writer is assuming all the participants of the study were honest. That's while many participants may unconsciously act differently to make result of the study better. For instance, they may use aspirin without telling it to researchers. Thus, he shouldn't assume that participants who were in an uncontrolled situation for twenty years were honest at all.

At last; the writer falsely presumes that food-processing companies work like pharmacists. In most cases those companies think about profit and good taste. That is to say, they may not measure amount of flavors and preservatives and they possibly do not study effect of those materials on consumers. This means, it is possible that between people's heath and better taste, food-processing companies give priority to better taste. Therefore, they use that matter more than the amount which body needs and it may have bad consequences on people. For instance, fluoride has positive effect on teeth. However, if it is used excessively it can ruin teeth. Hence, using more amount of a material, is not equal to more positive effects.

To sum it up, this argument is based on assumptions which are not proved. Therefore, the writer should explain about exact function of Salicylates in human's body to prove it is similar to aspirin. Moreover, method of researching and controlling participants of the twenty-year study should be stated clearly to clarify whether Salicylates had any effect on decrease of headaches or not. Furthermore, the way food-processing companies add Salicylates should be scrutinized to find whether they study effects of flavors on costumer's bodies or they just add flavors for better taste. Briefly, without examining mentioned issues one cannot rely on information of this flawed argument.