Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement asserts that when a work in any field is judged critically the critic has value just in the case that it is an expert's opinion. While some people may agree with the statement and other may disagree, in this debate I am in the group of those who believe the statement is mostly true. That's because, most of the time experts are those who have done that work many times and are completely dominant on the subject. Therefore, they can observe hidden aspects of the issue. Moreover, when ordinary people criticize a project their opinion is mostly coming from their limited experiences. Thus, their comments are most of the time flawed. Another important point to be considered on this subject is that experts have different levels and we shouldn't expect all of them same level of quality in criticizing. I will elaborate my ideas in the upcoming paragraphs.

First, when a project is showcased it is easy for everyone to have a comment on it. Nevertheless, there is a huge different between someone who had never seen a similar project and a person who is an expert and have done that project many times by his own hands. This means, an expert has enough experience to understand different aspect of the project. Thus, he has a comprehensive vision about the showcased work and he will not view it from just one side. For instance, when a movie wins a great prize like Oscar we can see that in some cases ordinary people does not like the movie, or they do not understand main concepts of the film. However, judges vote to that movie due to its special qualities which ordinary people cannot distinguish them. That’s while, when an expert talks about different aspects of that movie, it helps people to understand values or flaws of the movie better and they may change their idea after listening to that critic. The above is an example to show that ordinary people are not able to distinguish hidden aspects of a project. Thus, they may make negative comments about a work. However, when an expert reveals those aspects their vision is broaden and it may lead in a change in their idea. Thus, an experts comment is really different from ordinary people's ideas.

Some people may argue that being an expert is not equal of being a good criticizer. That's because someone can be an expert by experiences. However, being a criticizer is another expertise which needs specialized education. For instance, someone may be a good painter by working for long years. Thus, everyone will know him as an expert in painting. However, he may not be able to criticize works of other painters. That's because, he doesn't know about history of art and painting. Moreover, he is not familiar with different theories and specialized jargon of painting. Thus, he cannot make an expertized critic. I totally agree with this Idea. However, I believe although this painter's critic is less proper than an educated painter, his comments are more credited than a person who had never touched a painting brush. That is to say, it is not just black and white. We should see a spectrum which goes from white to black. Thus, it has many gray parts. Some parts are dark gray and others are lighter tones. This means we shouldn't polarize critics to educated experts and ordinary people. There may be differences in their qualities. But, their comments are mostly more validated than ordinary people's ideas.

To sum it up, expert's critics are more valuable than ordinary people's comments whether they are educated or they are experts by experiences. However, credit of that critic is depended on quality and level of the experts. This means we shouldn't expect all expert same level of criticism. Therefore, Critical judgment of works has little credit, unless it is made by an expert.