According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author claims that Groveton College has developed a system called honor code which relies on students reports of cheating in exams and it has reduced cheating between students. However, due to lack of some information about students grades and their behaviors during exams, his arguments seems to be flawed and unbelievable. In order to evaluate mentioned claims, the writer should provide more information which will be mentioned in the following paragraphs.

The first question readers should know about in order to evaluate the writer's claim is whether students feel comfortable for reporting their classmates or not? The writer asserts that students are reporting less cheating in compare to teachers. However, it is possible that students are not comfortable with reporting their classmates as they are friends and reporting their friends can weaken their friendship. Moreover, other students may ignore students which reports other students. Therefore, students are reluctant of reporting cheaters. If, honor code is going on in this way, reduction in reports does not indicate that students are cheating less than before.

Another question that might help readers evaluate this claim is whether students are aware of cheating techniques or not? It is possible that cheating students are using technology for their goal. For instance, it is hard for other students to recognize a student who is cheating with google glass of smart watch or even tiny headphones. Thus, the writer should make it clear whether other students are aware of prevailing cheating methods or not? If the answer is negative, then this memo will certainly weaken.

Moreover, readers should know about range of students grades. A compare between range of grades before and after the honor code projects will clarify an important point. Logically a narrow range of grades is suspicious. That’s because a class has different students which some of them are talented who gain peak of the range and lazy students who stand at the bottom of the grades range. If different in quality of students is not shown on their grades it is possible that lazy students are cheating. Therefore, the writer should answer how honor code system had effected grades of students?

In order to fully evaluate this article, readers would also need to know whether students are solely focused on their papers or they are skilled enough to divide their attention between their paper and their surrounding area? This means, most of the time students are just focusing on their paper and they are not aware of their surroundings and they will never understand if other students are cheating. In this case, reduction in amount of reports does not show reduction in amount of cheating during exams.

To sum it up, if the writer wants to convince readers he should answer some questions. First he should clarify whether students feel comfortable or ashamed of reporting their classmates as a cheater or not? Second, the writer must clarify if students know about ways of recognizing cheating students and cheating methods? Third, he should tell readers how honor code had effected student's grades? At last he should tell readers whether students who are focusing on their papers are able to pay attention to their surroundings or not? Without answering this questions the argument seems flawed.