The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered.

Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

To begin with, the author's conclusion to make effort to return illegal immigrants to their country of origin omits pivotal considerations to substantiate argument. The evidence the argument presents concerning autonomy of any country based on strength its borders is superficial and inconsistent. On continuation to support the evidence,

author asserts illegal immigrants entering country without necessary checks damage both economy and national identity seems inauthentic. Most conspicuously, the argument does not address auxiliary factors of economic growth and national identity, nor impact of such immigrants on economy and national identity.

Primarily, the argument assumes autonomy of country is solely dependent on its border. This alone does not strength autonomy of country, as on the one hand, autonomy should be seen as struggles of self-determination and self-governance, which is movement towards independence, and an answer to conflicts between minorities and ethnic groups in society. On the other hand, all the minorities in a country are not immigrants, but are people suffered from various differences from ethnic groups. So, this is an internal problem of country, which author fails to put-forth in support of claim. Clearly, borders are not the alone strengths for autonomy, but strategies for mutiny and diplomatic relations should be considered for autonomy of a country. For example, allowing more autonomy groups and institutions with capabilities into legislation could develop diplomatic relations with government.

Finally, the evidence never addresses authenticity on impact of illegal vs legal immigrants on economy and national identity, nor the kind of threat illegal immigrants pose. statistics on illegal immigrants, effect on country socioeconomic growth along with country relation will bring out actions to be taken. As such, it is clear from evidence argument that there are some illegal immigrants existing in country, so succinct data on threats and measures taken by country could have substantiated argument. But nevertheless, author claims to return illegal immigrants weakens, in contrast it puts-forth task which has its own obstacles including man power and money, to find illegal immigrants to send them to their origin, for a wrong reason.

To conclude, in contrast to authors cites drawn, country has to make intentional effort to understand obstacles involved to develop diplomatic relations with autonomy groups and institutions. As the presented argument leaves out aforementioned critical issues, it is neither sound nor persuasive. Ultimately, ff it had included the key items discussed above succinctly instead of solely choosing inconsistent reason for wrong cause, the argument would have been more thorough and convincing.