The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The given prediction is incomplete and leaves many questions unanswered. Further information is required in order to decide whether the prediction is reasonable or not.

Firstly, there is no mention of the number of lunch options available in the cafeteria of Kensington Academy. We do not know how many options were available earlier and how many options are being provided now by Swift Nutrition. Perhaps Swift Nutrition has a plethora of low-fat, low-calorie options which can compensate for the lack of unhealthy options being served earlier.

Secondly, the management of the cafeteria was changed keeping in mind the welfare of students. The school cannot rescind it's contract with a private vendor just because a few students do not find the meals enjoyable. If more than half of the number of students complain, then it can force the management to take certain steps. It is possible that a large section of the school is satisfied with the quality of meals being served by Swift Nutrition. More information is needed on the number of students attending Kensington Academy who eat at the cafeteria on a regular basis.

Thirdly, it is mentioned that if Swift Nutrition is not replaced with another vendor, then students will bring their own food which will be less healthy than cafeteria food. However, there is no mention about where the students will be getting food from. If the meals are brought from their own home, then chances are that because of safety and hygenic conditions, the food will be healthy too. No parent would want their child take unhealthy meals to school. If the food is brought from a nearby departmental stores or food vendors, then how will school children be able to keep purchasing their meals without financial support? Again, these questions need to be answered before any step is taken.

Lastly, the letter states that if Swift Nutrition is not replaced then there will be serious consequences for students of Kensington Academy. However, there may be an option to request Swift Nutrition to make changes to their menu so that children of Kensington Academy are able to enjoy all kinds of meals. Thus if Swift Nutrition agrees to the above solution, then there will be no need to find another vendor.