The following is a letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper.

"The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at some of our recent meetings we failed to make important decisions because of the foolish objections raised by committee members who are not even residents of Oak City. People who work in Oak City but who live elsewhere cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city. After all, only Oak City residents pay city taxes, and therefore only residents understand how that money could best be used to improve the city. We recommend, then, that the Committee for a Better Oak City vote to restrict its membership to city residents only. We predict that, without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work."

The argument that appeared in a local newspaper, the Oak City Gazette predicted that committee will able to make better place to live and work if there are no interference of non-residents. A committee suggests membership for only residents of Oak City Gazette. However, author fails to answer many questions which are necessary to strengthen their reasons.

Firstly, primary function of the committee to advice the city government to best use of budget. However, there must be some criteria to become a member of committee. But in recent meetings they failed to make any important decisions and the reasons behind this is foolish objections raised by non-residents member of committee. But report doesn't provide any details about how foolish objections are made by other committee members. There may be contradictions about decision which fair. There are chances that objections are based on their experience which resident of city may not understand. Report should provide details about how foolish objections are made by non-resident committee member.

Secondly, non-resident may not understand the business and politics of the city but if there are well experienced then they can use their experience to help this city also. Statement that only residents pay city taxes can only understand how their money could be used to improve city raise many questions. If they understand how to improve their cities then why they have not make any important decisions. If their decisions are efficient and effective then why any other member of committee will make any foolish objections which report fails to answer. So, there are many flaws in a report which weaken the argument.

Restriction of non-resident member in committee may raise some questions. How they make city a better place to work and live. There must be a other cities which are better than others. If there are other cities resident members in committee then there may be a chance that their suggestions improve condition of city. So, report should answer about other alternative which may help to improve city rather than restricting others.

In summary, this report raise many questions about committee which is only interested in restricting non-resident member rather than working together to improve better life of people. There are no strong evidence that suggest that only resident of city can make better decision.