The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 is happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the memorandum from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants. The author (manager) concludes here that the use of butter in replacement of margarine in the restaurants has little or no impact on the customers. Also, he concludes that the customers are happy and do not complain when they are given margarine instead of butter. The manager also concludes that the customers do not have the sense to identify the difference between the butter and margarine. However, before this assertion can be properly evaluated, three questions should be answered.

First of all, the author (manager) claims that they replaced butter by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southern part of the United States and not to the other parts of the United States. The author has not mentioned why the change is only made in the southern part why not in northern, eastern, and western parts of the country. This may change the results of the reviews of the customers which is two percent according to the author. Also, did every customer reviewed the restaurant for the change isn't mentioned in the argument.

Secondly, the author claims that servers have reported that when customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. This statement does not provide full information about the customers and also, the count of such customers isn't mentioned in the argument. What if the customer didn't notice the change or the customer may be in a rush of something which could have been the reason for not arguing. Also, both butter and margarine are made of fats and almost look alike having the same color, texture, and might be the taste varied was negligible. This might be the reason why people were not able to identify the difference between butter and margarine.

Finally, the important thing which the author has not considered in his memorandum is - Does the margarine has some health effects or is it high in cholesterol level as compared to butter which may cause severe health problems in the coming future? Also, the author has not provided a systematic research study to evaluate his memorandum.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above three questions and offer more evidence in the form of a systematic research study, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the replaced butter with the margarine.