The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In this memo, the manager argues that butter replacement with margarine could lead to little impact on their customers. To support his/her claim, the author quotes both the little customer complaints and the servers' feedback about customers' attitude to such change. Quite convincing though such explanation appears, we can not safely argue that it is the unique explanation that could account for the facts presented by the author. Therefore, we need to plumb other explanations, which could rival with the one proposed in the passage.

To start off, the author ascribes the satisfaction out of majority of customers to the fact that only 2 percentage of customers complaint. While it is possible that rare complains signifies a positive customer feedback, others factors could result in such phenomenon as well. First of all, it is likely that the survey used for complaint collecting is designed to fit for just a group of people who are inclined to have little complaints. Furthermore, as the feedback result would be linked with designer's annual performance, they actually choose a pre-analyzed respondents during the procedure of survey. If either of aforementioned cases stay true, it is reasonable to assume that such 2 percentage complaints isn't a impartial reflection for the real customer status, thus it could weaken the author's explanation.

Moreover, the author presents two explanations for the facts that servers reported to customers' attitude for such changes. However, customers' attitude could spring not only from those two reasons, but also other probabilities. For example, customers might easily distinguish butter from provided margarine, however, when taking margarine for a trial, they actually find margarine have better taste than they expected. If it is the case, the surprise brought back by good tastes definitely lead to no negative feedback. Furthermore, while some customer asked servers for butter instead of margarine, they are so busy and little time for their dinner that they would like to accept such alternative instead of spending time on complaints, which merely increase their time cost. Without further investigation, we don't which explanation could lead to such situation mentioned above. And it's even likely that all of them conspire to customers' positive attitude to such replacement.

Last but not least, while little complaints and conspicuous customer attitudes might lend support to the conclusion of trivial business impact, it is reckless for us to claim that it is the unique reason for such conclusion. Other factors might contribute to such outgrowth as well. Taking margarine's storage as example, after using margarine to replace with butter, the company might save quite a lot of money for storage of their raw material, as the result of less rigorous reserved condition for margarine. Consequently, such cost decline brings about diminishing of service fee and restaurants prices, which are afforded largely by customers. Thus, with the same money as before, customers could enjoy much better services for food and housing, which contributes to little impact on company business.

In summary, while the rare business impact could be extrapolated from rare customer complaints and their feedback attitude, we still can no establish the well casual relationship between it and the ultimate business impact conclusion. This margarine surrogate with butter is such an phenomenon that we need more considerations for alternative explanations that account for the facts presented in the passage.