The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument stated by the manager of a TV station states that owing to the complaints regarding coverage of weather and local news and decreased advertisements since the changes in the content of late-night news program , the TV station should restore everything to the former level. However the argument needs to provide more evidence if reason given to switch to original schedule to be compelling.

The argument says since the time late-night news program has devoted more time national news rather than local/weather news, the complaints it received were mainly concerned with coverage of local and weather news.But there is no evidence suggesting complaints prevalent to the local /weather news has increased after this change was made. For all we know complaints regarding local/weather news were existing before the change was made and the change has unaffected the number of complaints received regarding local/weather news. If this is the case reverting back to original schedule would not attract more viewers because they are still dissatisfied with the content shown. There is a high chance that the complaints may be regarding other day programs and the viewers of TV station are unconcerned with the night program.So again it is important to know whether the complaint is relevant to the late night program.

The argument also says local businesses advertising with the TV station during the late-night program have canceled their advertising contracts with the station. But there is no proof stating that the reason for local businesses cancelling advertising contracts is mainly because of changes in the late-night news program content. For all we know the station might have increased advertising tariffs in the past year . So, owing to high prices advertisers might have canceled the contract. There is also a chance that a economic depression started throughout the region where the advertisers were present so in order to cutdown costs advertisers rescinded their contracts .So it becomes necessary to know why the local businesses terminated their contract because the reason can be totally unrelated to the schedule of the program.

The TV station would have had reason to change its news content of the late night show. It may be to attract a wider audience and also more diverse advertisers ,in this case if the TV channel reverts back for all we know it might loose viewers and advertisers so in this case reverting back has a reverse impact of what is expected. Hence it is necessary to evaluate the negative impact reverting back to the original may have.

To summarize , for the argument to be a cogent enough to come the decision mentioned above the argument needs to provide more details which strengthen its stance that the losses incured with respect to viewers and advertisers is because of changes in the way late-night news program was broadcasted.