A recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave are 28 percent less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis.

The hypothesis given by the researchers tries to explain how paid/umpaid sick leaves are related to the number of work related accidents. However the hypothesis given is not completely reasonable beacuse it makes certains presumptions which gives room to lot of unanswered questions which question /challenge how cogent is the hypothesis given.

Firstly the hypothesis is based on the results of a study conducted by Center for disease control . So it is important to know that what was the sample space of the study conducted ? Beacuse the number work related accidents can be related to the nature of the job rather than the provision of paid/unpaid sick leaves . For example empolyees in a mining unit are more porne to work related accidents than empolyees sitting in an investment banking firm. So number of work related accidents in this case is to be attributed to the nature of work rather than number of paid or unpaid leaves .If this were to be true i.e if the study was based on different types of work than basis on which the hypothesis is made itself would be wrong because number of work related accidents is not dependent upon number of paid or unpaid sick leaves bur rather depends on the nature of work itself.

The hypothesis also states that work related accidents are spurred by impaired by judgement, motor skills ascribed to illness.If there were true then the question of how many of the accidents involved workers who were actually sick ? Because work related accidents can be driven by other factors rather than sickness . Consider two construction sites , work related accidents on one of the sites is less compared to others not because employees were not sick but rather beacuse the safety procedures followed , the saftey realted equipment /training given to empolyees on one of the sites was better yielding in less number of accidents . So it is important to answer many many sick people were actually involved in an accident beacuse accidents can happen due to other factors mentioned as above.

Researchers also hypothesize that sick employees are compelled to come to work because of fear of lack of pay but there is no evidence to support that , so the question of number of sick empolyees turning up to work in both the cases (i.e in cae of paid and unpaid sick leaves ) needs to answered to support the hypothesis. Employees might prioritize health when compared to work irrespective of whether they get paid for sick leaves or not.

The hypothesis given by researchers need to answers questions as mentioned above, provide more susbstantial evidence in order to make the hypothesis a cogent one , because the current hypothesis has many shortcomings making it a less compelling one.