Schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports and the arts when school buildings

are in need of repair.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this recommendation

and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and sup porting your position, describe

specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and

explain how these examples shape your position.

Although Schools are known as institutes where students mainly learn academic aspects , I largely disagree with the recommendation that schools need to compensate on costs of extracurricular activities if school buildings need repair beacuse cutting down on extracurricualr activities is not the only solution and it can impact the school and its students in other egregious ways.

Schools are resposnible for teaching students various academic aspects such as science, history, math etc.. although these academic aspects are important for a student to succeed ,extracurricular activities are equally important for the overall development of students.So if the school were to cut down on extracurriculars it would impact the students in a negative way . Thats beacuse extracurriculars like say sports , music ,dance, art etc.. not only help students relax from academic pressures it also helps them develop skills like communication , team spirit , stress control etc.. Consider the game of football a player on the field needs to communicate well with his teammates about stratergies , mingle with everyone for the team to succeed ,control and moderate his temper in pressure situations . These skills become rudimentary when a student has a career of his own in somecases even when comapred to academic skills . Because jobs these days test how well a person can survive , handle pressure , mingle with others and then see how good his academic skills are .Some extracurriculars like say art helps develop creative thinking in childern ,because in painting the transaltion of thoughts into colors demands students be creative think differently in order to stand out .Further more extracurriculars can bring out the hiden talent in students when given proper recognition and training students can even build a career out of these extracurriculars as sportpersons, actors, composers and what not... So reduced funding for these activities would not only prevent the developement of these skills but also deny this world of great artists, sportpersons, etc...

Given the importance that these extracurriculars have on students , the school can find other ways to fund the building repair . For example schools can cut down on operational costs such as providing free beverage to its faculty members ,or say reduce funding on other aesthetic but less important aspects such as mainiting a garden , having classrooms with glass cabinets or anything that doesnt impact the students as much as cutting down omn extracurriculars. Schools as an alternate can also urge parents for a increased fee for that particular to fund repair activities , explaining the imapct of the steps school is forced to take if they dont get the funding.

Despite of all disadvatages cutting down on extracurriculars has there are extreme cases where this might be the right thing to do . Consider a school which spends extravagently on extracurriculars like may be it is maintaining a large number of faculty as comapred to the recommended faculty to student ratio for these extracurriculars , it has more than the required number of grounds ,auditoriums , instruments needed to pursue these extracurriculars which are lying unused and the building that needs repair has classrooms where students sit , then schools are right to cut down on these activities.

To summarize , cutting down on extracurriculars has a large negative impact on a students development so schools should find other ways to fund the building repairs. However, in some cases if the extracurriculars are already funded more than what is required then schools can divert the funds for building activities ensuring adequate stress is given on extracurriculars .