The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leaders need to have a certain set of qualities in them that make them worthy of their position. These plethora of qualities include resolving conflict, leading by example, being impartial, creating a conducive environment for people she/he is leading. There is saying "youth of today are the leaders of tommorrow", now the claim that states the best way to create leaders is by instilling a sense of cooperation and not competition is a little extreme and treats cooperation and competition to mutually exclusive.

Leaders are individuals who need to respected and considered worthy by others in the group which he/she is leading. The claim competition is something that can be overlooked while engendering leaders is not very cogent. This is beacuse leaders as mentioned need to garner respect must prove that they are best at what they do.For example a politician must prove that he is best suited for the job to the people who vote for him. One of the ways in bringing out the best in a person is through competititon, competition challenges the ideals/position of person who is ought to become the leader as result of which individuals are more dilligent in the stance they take and in order to better their competition tend to become more avid to prove their worth. Usually when we say a person is best at what he is doing and he can lead well, we are saying so because he is better than his contemporaries and others. A good example to prove sense of competition is essential for leadership to accepted is when the captain of cricket team is chosen, there would be several candidates for the job yet because of competition people strive to be the best among them to prove their which is one of the essential qualities of a leader.

Furthermore, the claim gives an idea cooperation is exclusive of competetion, and cooperation is something that is needed for leadership and not competition. Well there are cases where leaders need to demonstrate qualities pertaining to both competition and cooperation. Consider a situation where CEO's of major tech companies are in a race to win a customer. However, one of the CEO's uses unjust methods to winover the customer. In this case the remaining CEO's eventhough competing with one another need to cooperate among themselves to bar such unjust practices.

Some might argue that competition leads discord, scuffles and controversies, So , leaders needed to promote cooperation. This is true in some cases but healthy competition which does not lead to such harmful effects are essential for leaders because just competiton brings the out in an individual/group.

Young people need to be instilled with sevral qualities for them to become leaders some of those include healthy competition and cooperation. To say cooper