A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

National curriculums are set taking into considerations various interests of the nation then making a standard that schools are recommended to follow. Now this national curriculum if forced on students before they enter college then the curriculum followed by the entire nation is uniform, standardized taking into account the general interest. The recommendation given that suggests students should follow the same national curriculum before college is compelling one.

National curriculums as mentioned are usually formed by a body, that has members representing various groups of diverse academic , geographical and political interests. Now such a procedure to have various members take part in setting the national curriculum ensures that diverse intersts within a nation are catered to. Consider an example of a country like India which is diverse in its geography, political interstsm, and cultures. Now say when setting the national curriculum for say a subject like geography the curriculum makes sure that various geographical topographies like plains, beaches , marsh lands etc are included in the syllabus. Same goes with range of subjects that students need to study, For example again in a country like India studying history is fundamental to understand how to nation is formed compared to country whic has historically been more stable. Apart from catering to diverse interests common national curriculum before college ensures that all students are uniformly put through the same academic rigour without any biases . Because the academic performences of students is used a parameter to his/her knowledge when joining a college, or when applying for a job. If uniformity is not there then students with relatively a easier academic curriculum may eventually get high scores which acts a disadvantage to students with a more arduous academic rigour.

Furthermore, common national curriculum before college offers a plethora of subjects that the student needs to learn. The students then depending on their interest can take a particular major when he/she enters college. Because students at school wont have the maturity/experience to major / conecentrate on a particular subject. Consider an example where a school does not offer science because it doesnt follow the national curriculum , in this case a student with immense aptitude for science may not become a scientist instead become a historian because he was never offered/introduced to science.

However, there are cases where it is essential for curriculums to cater to regoinal interests rather than a national curriculum. For example take the cases of languages in India , there are more than 20 officially recognized languages. So curriculum ina particular state should choose languages spoken in that state not the one recommended by national curriculum because it may not be the common dialect of the state.

To summarize, national curriculum before college is advisable before college given range of advantages it offers.But