"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation states that Super Screen movie company needs to spend more on advertising in order to reach out a public who are unaware of the movies that Super Screen companies make, which are again considered to be good based on the reviews. There are several gaps in the reasoning the Advertising director gives for a arriving at the recommendation which need to be addressed to state whether the recommendation is will actually be helpful.

The explanation given says that a fewer people attended Super Screen movies produced this year compared to previous years. So the question that needs to be addressed is why the number of people attending Super Screen movies are reduced this year , what changed since last years to this year ? If the claim is that content of reviews have not reached the viewers does that mean the budget spent of advertising this year has reduced? If so then lack of advertising can be assumed as reason that number of people have reduced this year. If the budget for advertising is same then most likely the reach of the movie reviews are the same this year too. Perhaps there is some other reason which is causing this reduction in the number of people. One of the reasons may be the ticket price of the movies has increased this year , or the company might have stopped producing movies of a particular genre that was the most popular. If this is the case increasing advertising budget is less likely to help.

The claim also says that percentage of positive reviews has increased from last year to this year. But has the number of good reviews increased from last year to this year ? Is the sample space of the audience diverse enough to base that movies are good based on their reviews ? Yes the percentage of good reviews has increased but this may because the fewer people who attended the movie, like movies by Super Screen and all the people who give negative reviews may not have attended the movie itself. In this case percentage of good reviews has increased but the overall number of good reviews may be the same or for all we know decreased. Also people continuing to attend the movie might be staunch supporters of Super Screen Movies and their reviews may be biased. So it is important to address the credibility of the increase in percentage of good reviews to say that the quality of movies might not be a problem for decrease in number of audiences. If at all the the quality is actually a concern then allocating extra budget for advertising will not attract a large number of people.

To Summarize, practically increasing the budget on advertising may actually help reaching out to the public, but the explaination given to the recommendation is not cogent enough to prove the same.