The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level".

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum presented from the business manager of a television station concludes that the decreased time devotion to local news and weather news as the main reason for increasing complaints, and decreasing advertising contracts; the memorandum presents revival of the same time level to local news and weather news to solve the problem that is fallacious and not true on the basis of the lacking premises or evidences.

The manager here assumes the time allocation to local news and weather to be main factor to increasing complaints, which, from another point of view can seem untrue. For example, the complaints may have arised due to the fallacy of contents and unproven news accuracy of the television station. If that be the case, then there wont be any decrease in the complaints only by increasing show time of local news and weather, rather increased complaints may occur due to increased time of erroneous news.

Another factor that manager fails to take in analysis is, whether the advertisement contracts are being canceled due to exorbitant amount of money the television station would charge rather than the issue of time allocation. The fact that increasing complaints from viewers could also have been motivation factor for their contract withdrawal: no advertisement company would desire to present their advertisement in the channel whose viewer might soon diminish rapidly.

The manager doesnot seem to be concerned with the possibly increasing competition in the market. It could be the possibility that viewers and advertisers are more attracted toward other new competition who provide more reliable, accurate, and on-demand news than that of the managers television station. If that be the case, it would be fruitful to increase the level of efficiency so as to effectively compete with the new television stations rather than increasing the news time and rescheduling it to previous formats.

From the memorandum itself, it is clear that there has been absolute lack of research in finding the cause of the viewers complaints, advertisers reluctance to continue the contract work. Thus, it would be more fruitful to television station to take any action only after finding the accurate reasons and its solution than abruptly jumping to any conclusion.