The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leadership is best developed, whether it be in the field of government, industry, or any other field, when there exist a sense of co-operation among the people. The prominent existence of cooperation among young people leads towards the journey where everyone gets benefitted through each other in terms of knowledge sharing, growing together with evolutionary visions and thoughts sharing. Whereas, the sense of competition among each individuals may hinder the process of developing leadership qualities among them: this idea may bring out the unnecessary unhealthy competitions among young individuals resulting in more jealousy, envy and bitterness in others progress, hindering own development throughout.

Leadership is best known to have developed in an individual if the individual can work for other people and can foster the growth of all society, nation, or even world as a whole; and, it is possible to work for others, rising from individual needs and selfishness only when a person is social enough or cooperating enough with other individuals. It is possible to know the circumstances and reality of the society, nation and problems faced by the people only with cooperation among each other and the person can have better plans on his development of leadership by advocating the needs and concerns of the people. For example, considering the success of former president Barack Obama of America, it can be understood that his background as a average child having common life and relationship with cooperating nature made him so successful. Had he been raised in sense of unhealthy competition and jealousy, it would certainly have hindered his learning process hindering leadership as a whole.

Many critics or people might argue against the leadership development through cooperation by considering the lack of opposing views and contradictions that might be helpful for developing an individual suitable for any kind of situations. However, the learning process grows more in favourable environment where the mind is more bolstered and free to think peacefully with matching views among people. The mind can grow more with alike minded people and cooperation among people than in competition where other individual selfishness overshadows the thoughts for other people.For example, in any company or organization we can often see the growth and betterment when there is cooperation and a single leadership with supports from workers rather than everybody through sense of competition trying to work out their own plans.

Hence, although, the idea that competition might favour in learning and developing of leadership in new circumstances, making an individual a suitable leader in different situation- out of the comfort zone, cannot be totally neglected but the idea of sense of cooperation helping leadership development more prominently, overshadows the previous idea. Thus it is better to instill sense of cooperation rather competition in young individuals by certain extent.