An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the given facts as development of new breeds of vitamin A rich millet and its requirements to be promoted for decreasing the deficiency of the typical vitamin in people of tagus, I personally feel lack of proper research on how the new millet breed is going to act as remedy. The argument shows that the new breed millet are rich in vitamin A;however, it has not properly addressed the requirements of these new millet to prosper properly and provide sufficient production as required. Generally, it is significant to have adequate production of these foods in order to make it feasible among impoverished nations because in lack of proper production feasibility it may be difficult for people to adopt these new products for farming.

Another biggest concern regarding the millet is its resistance capacity, existence potential and survival tendency on the climate, soil type, natural climates, and different natural pests. If the breed is more vulnerable and prone to these certain circumstances, then it is more unfeasible and the tendency of this remedy being futile is high.

Although the organization poses that the farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety, the extent of information doesnot clearly indicate the source of subsidies payment to the farmers. There is no clear indication on the possibility of the subsidies payment to the farmers if its going to be from the side of government or the organization itself.

There are no any claims on the success rate of this new breed in the natural environment or experimental environment itself as well. Only being vitamin A rich source cannot make the breed supreme over other different possibilities and choices which may offer remedies economical to this one.

There has been lack of comparisons to other remedial solutions in order to post new variety of millet as the best one and suitable for the pertaining situation which indicates lack of proper research. Also the research regarding the consumption pattern of millet by people of the region is to be in question: if the well adopted consumption pattern of millet is done in such a way that the vitamin A of the millet may not be available for digestion then it would be waste to expend on the new variety.

Thus to promote this new type of millet only on the basis of given facts and premises is little unwise and may not prove fruitful.