The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that the during past one year the late night new program has been devoting most of their time to national news and very less time on weather and local news, which has received several complaints form viewers, also there have been losses in advertising revenues, because existing local business have cancelled their advertising contracts.But there are several underlying questions which might weaken the conclusion which states that restoring to weather and local news will solve the problem.

The late news night program has devoted increased time to national news rather than weather and local news, there could be several underlying purposes such as the national news may be of an important concern to the nation, for example it could be some global meet whose details are being provided. Also there is a possibility that the news would be something important and different from what is being given on other programs.It is also possible that the national news might be generating a great rating and increasing viewership, which has resulted in change. So until such questions regarding why the program has called for a switch is unknown concluding anything would be wrong.

The mention of the complaints in the passage who were more concerned about local and weather news is also not stated completely. As it states "most of the complaints" it does not state that the number of complaints have increased. Until it is completely known what did the complaints state and have the number of complaints increased significantly, nothing can be said about the change in program being good or bad.

It is also assumed that the local business that used to advertise the program have cancelled their advertising contract because of change in the station's coverage of news. There could be several other reasons for cancelling the contract, like to get different viewers, or monetary issues etc which have not been stated.

The last statement suggests that in order to attract more viewers to program and to increase revenue they should restore the time to weather and local news, in fact the program should concentrate on improving the program, which does not necessarily mean restoring to previous methods will increase viewership and bring revenues back, but to improve the current national news coverage, which would be liked by viewers. And with regard to advertising revenue they could get some other advertisers maybe national instead of local, if the program continues to provide national news.

Therefore, it is not necessary that restoring to previous methods will be a boon, until such important questions are not answered one cannot conclude that the restoring to previous methods will be a good.