The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Specific evidence that would be necessary to evaluate this argument would be the exact complaints viewers have expressed about the station's coverage, a poll of current and past viewers feelings on the coverage, and an explicit statement from the local businesses on why they withdrew their contracts.

Specific examples of the viewers stating how exactly they are concerned about the station covering less news about weather and local events would strengthen this argument as it would clearly indicate that viewers are unhappy with the coverage to the extent that they may stop watching the program. Furthermore, the station could issue a poll to viewers within the local area to determine if the reason why they are watching less is due to their decreased coverage of local news and the weather. It would provide concrete numerical evidence that enough viewers are discontent with the station that it would justify restoring the time they previously devoted to those particular news items.

Finally, an explicit statement from the local businesses as to why they withdrew their contracts would greatly strengthen their argument as this might show that they feel since not as much local news is shared on the station that possibly it is no longer relevant to their interests. Additionally, if viewers are tuning out, then the local businesses may have expressed that they are getting less engagement through the ads they run on the station, thus it is no longer profitable for them to do business with the station.

The abovementioned evidence is necessary to strengthen the argument as without them a counterargument could be formed that the decreased coverage of the weather and local news is not actually why there are less viewers and why local businesses withdrew their advertising contracts. Including this evidence will ensure the support necessary for the argument to stand up to scrutiny.