The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

While it may seem that by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level, news channel will be able to attract more viewers and avoid losing further advertising revenues.

It is stated that most of the complaints were concerned with station's coverage of weather and local news,but there is no mention of total number of complaints. Maybe the total number of the complaints for news channel is in paucity, so these are the views of few people.

Moreover, it is never mentioned what is written in the complaints. Maybe people want to see local and weather news for even lesser amount of time. Or people want to see news relating to some specific locations in thier locality. There could have been some fault regarding weather or local news news coverage,which might have irate people leading them to write complaints regarding the same.

Furthermore, Information is not sufficient for analysis. Local advertisers could have canceled advertising contracts with most of news channels during late-night show, as there is less number of viewers during late night.

Additonally, the complaints could have been from a specific month.There could be some local sports tournament or carnival going on in city during that time period.

So without complete information, it can not be concluded that by restoring time devoted to weather and local news, news channel will be able to restore its viewers and revenue to former level.