The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager of a television station argues that in order to attract more views to the program and to avoid losing further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. To buttress his or her claim, the manager cites the following evidences: first, most complaints received from viewers were concerned with station's coverage of weather and local news; second, local business canceled their advertising contracts with us. Tough the issue has its own merit, without complete evidences and explanations regarding the evidences provided, the conclusion in the memo is unsubstantiated.

To begin with, further details of the complaints received are needed to fully evaluate the argument. How many complaints did the television station receive? What were the contents of those complaints? If, for example, the number of complaints received after the change has decreased dramatically, then it is a good idea to insist on current strategy. Where did the complaints come from? If one person wrote several complaints in order to express his dissatisfication, then his opinion cannot represent all other audiences. Whether the station received some acclaims from the public about less coverage of weather and local news? If so, at least some people are pleasant with the change. Without providing detailed information about the complaints to us, we are unable to wholely investigate of the pros and cons of such decision.

Furthermore, the author unfairly attributes the effect of cancelling advertising contracts to the change of coverage in the station. While this cause might be one that affects local business's determination, many other causes remain unexamined. It is plausible that the local business is facing buget deficit currently, so that it decides to reduce the advertisement distribution in the total expenditure. In addition, the local business may find late-night news program not suitable for their business, but rather would like to attract more consumers in the daily program. Or they prefer advertising on other platforms, such as Internet or APPs. In this case, the change of coverage of television programs might affect little on local business's advertising plan. The author should offer the core reasons behind the decision of local business.

Last but not least, the business manager of the television station assumes that storing the time devoted to weather and local news would attract more viewers to the program. The assumption might seem valid at first glance, it is fallacious after further exploration. That people decrease spending time on television might have nothing to do whether the local news or the national news offered. Instead, they start to read news from Internet, on which they are able to obtain the most updated news and can easily comment under every news. Therefore, changing the content of station perhaps is not a good idea; rather the manager should focus on more how to convert people's attention or even habits from Internet to television. Additionally, the author fails to provide the evidence about the change in audience before and after the coverage of national news. It is likely that most people are attracted by the national news instead of weather and local news, so that reducing the coverage of national news would further decrease the potential audiences.

To sum up, as it stands, the author's conclusion is relied on incomplete information and biased interpretation that weaken the credibility of the memo. To strengthen the argument, the author is advised to provide the evidences as follows: first, the detailed information of the complaints received; second, whether the change of coverage of television station is the main reason behind the concelling of the advertisement contracts; third, whether store the time devoted to weather and local news to normal level plays an essential role in attracting viewers and advertising revenues.