The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

According to the paragraph, the news channel put more emphasis on national news rather than local news and forecasts. With complaints and local businesses canceling their advertising contract, the news channel made adjustments to restore time devoted to forecast and local news to its original state.

In this situation, if the financial income of the news channel majority are from local businesses, the content of the news should remain local. Here's why. Imagine people constantly watching the news, during commercials, if the previous content is local news, it's more logic to show advertisements that are some how related to the content. This could not only remain the viewers at the same channel but also track more advertisements in a long run. On the other hand, if the news is playing an investigation of crime from another state, not only would the crowd get bored but also tend to switch channels, not to mention any attention on the advertisement that aren't even related at any point.

However, it's not about whether the news is about nationally or locally. The most intriguing part to the viewers are the content rather than the genre. With any in-depth review from whether a national wide news or a local one, both could prevent viewers from switching channels. Moreover, with more viewers national wide, the television station could gain advertisement contracts from nationally large companies, could even boost the income of the company.

The problem with the memorandum is that there are more than one indicator influencing the whole consequence, making it hard for the manager to make any decisions.