The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author provide a circumstance which is stated that they started to provide more news about national issues and less news regarding the condition of weather and local news and briefly for that circumstances the station received lower advertising revenues and they are facing lots of troubles and conundrums. This issue provided a captivating argument at first glance but however when we move forward to the argument it provides lots of ambiguous and vague issues which seems that the authors position is somewhat incorrect.

For example, when they started to provide more news about national issues rather than weather and local news, they started to receive lots of complaints from the reviewers. However, they are not sure that the complaints they received from the reviewers is only for that reason or for some other reasons. They are saying that only on the basis of their assumptions. Consequently, it may be possible that they are receiving bad reviews because of their irregular and equivocal arrangements of collecting news or because of their precocious news journalists who failed to attract the reviews with enthralling news.

Consequently, the news program of a news channel must contain a concatenation of news like politics, national news, weather and local news, entertainment news etc. If the news channel failed to collect any portion of the news than it can be a huge trouble for them. The author here thought that their rating is declining only for presenting less weather and local news. But, it may be possible that they are not presenting a variety of news and that is the cardinal point that the viewers are not attracted by the platitude of news.

Another point which is pertinent to mention that if the rating of that channel is decreasing only for the lack of weather and local news than their rating will decrease in all the time the news is presented not only in the late night. Another most salient feature is weather and local news are not interesting for the people for all age. Mostly, the teenagers and the adults are more focused on the national issues and the entertain news. So, it may be possible that the news channel can not able to provide news regarding these issues and so they are devoted to another news channel.

In conclusion, it can be stated that that is not the one and only reason that the news channel has getting less viewers because they are providing less news about weather and local. Mostly, they are failed to provide knowledgable and intriguing news and that is the main reason for decreasing the number of viewers and the number of advertising revenues. However, they should work hard and assiduously in their news to captivate viewers and thus they can able to get more advertising revenues.