The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims here that because of devoting increased time to national news and less time to local and weather news, they are losing advertising contracts and receiving viewers complaints as well. Describing in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. In support of this argument, the author notes that in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. However, meticulous inspection of the evidence elicits that it provides meager support for the author’s assumptions. Hence, the argument is rather weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that , local business that used to advertise during late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts and viewers are complaining because of increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news.The argument doesn't devoted the information about ratio of time they allocated for national news and weather or local news. For example, if they show local or weather news only for 10 minutes and 2 hours for national news , which is not acceptable. In this short time, it's not enough to deliver relevant adevertisement which might the reason to canel the contracts.

Second, the argument claims that, most of complaints they receive from viewers which were concerned about the coverage of weather and local news. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrte any correlation between complaints and news coverage. To illustrate, those complaints from the viewers could be the reason of covering irrelevant local/weather news, could be the reason of covering false news, could be the reason of not covering the news in time etc.If the argument had provided evidence that all of the complaints received due to the allocation of less time for local/weather news , then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the argument claims that in order to attact more viewers to the program and to avoid losing advertising revenues , they will restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its formar level.Whats the gurantee the revenue will not loss? What if viewers not increase?

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strenthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts why they are receving complaints from the viewers, why local businesses cancelled ther advertising contracts etc.In order to assess the merits of a certain situation , it is essential to have adequent knowledge of all contributing factors. In this particulare case,why they have allocated less time for weather/local news, without this information , the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.