The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

<span id="docs-internal-guid-97f22c25-7fff-dac2-14df-95ce98306cd3"><p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.38;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: transparent; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline;">In the memo, the business manager concludes that the television station has lost revenue since he has switched from weather and local news to national news and thus, he needs roll back to his former level to stop losing any more advertising revenues. The manager also states that he received complaints from his viewers concering the station's coverage of local news and weather. Also, local businesses have cancelled their advertising revenues since then. Nevertheless, there are a series of assumptions stated which have flaws and are remaining to be answered to verify whether the conclusion holds water.&nbsp;</span></p><br><p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.38;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: transparent; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline;">Firstly, the manager states that most of the complaints he received after switching the programs were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. However, he does not mention what their concern was. Maybe, the viewers just wanted to know the new schedule of late-night programs and were happy that weather and local news aren't available now. It is also possible that the viewers were enjoying the national programs and thus wanted to let the stations know it. Thus, without answering these assumptions, the statements stands unwarranted.</span></p><br><p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.38;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: transparent; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline;">Also, the business manager states that local businesses that used to advertise during their late night shows have started cancelling their contracts. It is possible that since the stations now covers national news at night instead of local news, the advertisers do not feel the time appropriate to advertise. It is also possible that since the station is telecasting national news instead of local, it is now receiving advertising offers from national advertisers which has lead to the station increasing their advertising rate. Due to the increased rate, the local advertisers are thus, cancelling their contracts. Hence, just like the earlier assumption, without properly investigating these questions, even this evidence stands unwarranted.</span></p><br><p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.38;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: transparent; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline;">Even if the concede the hypothesis that the above evidence is true, the station can still have their weather and local news at a different time. As a result, the local advertisers which had problems to advertise concering national news being displayed while advertising may now re-instate their contracts to the new time. Also, it is highly possible that more people might now turn up to watch this news since it is at a time more feasible to everyone. It is also possible that people were having complains because there were times at which there was something really crucial that the news failed to cover and it was instead showing national news. This made the people as well as the advertisers furious and thus, they cancelled their contracts. Hence, the manager needs more evidence to prove his conclusion.</span></p><br><p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.38;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: transparent; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline;">As a result of the above questions, the conclusion stated by the manager that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news would stop him from losing revenues stays flawed. The manager should do deeper investigation to the above flaws stated and re-evalute his assumptions.</span></p><div><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: transparent; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline;"><br></span></div></span>