Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

it is the duty of the government to safeguard the people of their country as well as to protect and develop their interests for the development of the nation. The prompt recommends that the government should treat military and arts equally, and should promote arts as much as it promotes military. Considering two independent entities here, but, with the importance of them ranging from interests to lives, I mostly disagree with this recommendation and would like to raise a couple of instances.

The military of a country is responsible for guarding its borders, maintaining peace and thus, ensuring the safety of all the citizens of the country. For instance, if the country runs into a problem with a neighbouring country, or is suddenly attacked by terrorists, the military force comes into action. The military force needs to be intellectually active as well as it needs to have all the imperative resources in these situations. In circumstances where the country is attacked by terrorists, armies are deployed and they have to risk their lives to eliminate the threat. also, while doing so, there are cases where civilians are kept as hostages. here, the army needs to make sure that not only they destroy the threat, but, make sure that that civilians are not harmed in any way. The government needs to make sure that the military is supplied with the best training, all the latest resources are available and thus, ensure that the protection of the country are in the safest hands. this leads to the point that government should not make any compromises in protecting the security of its citizens.

Once the citizens of the country are made safe, the government still has important issues to address. The other side of the issue lies in protecting the interests of its citizens. For example, the government should make sure that the best institutes are made for its citizens education and, that the citizen should not have to migrate to other countries just because its country does not offer quality expertise in its field. Hence, just like it cannot make compromises in protecting the citizens, it should also ensure that arts are developed as well, thus contributing in the success of the nation.

Considering that one part is about safeguarding the citizens of the country, and the other is about making the citizens interests are developed and nourished without any compromises, the government is thus in an ambiguous state. However, lives of the citizens are a bit more important and thus, the higher priority should still be the military from the country's point of view.