The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Peter

Jones.

“In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison

Peter Jones plans to build a multi-million-dollar subway system. The subway

will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses

serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been

complaining both about inconsistent buses and the general lack of safety

while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four

hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison

Peter Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity,which will improve the economy of Briggsville.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated

assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends

on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the

assumptions prove unwarranted

The mayor of the town, Briggsville assumes that the productivity of the workers will increase and in turn improve the economy of the town, But his reasoning is based of faulty assumption and flawed arguments. The following assumption states below if proved unwarranted will weaken the assumption by the mayor's office.

The major expects an increase in workers productivity and inturn econiomic growth in the town of Briggsville as the mototrist will spend less time in traffic, this argument is flawed as, there is no data to show that all the workers use motor cars to commute to work and back from work. They may be using public busses or walking to work as they stay nearby to the working sites and offices. A clear idea of how the workers come to work can only clear this asuumptions. The mayor also thinks that subway syatems will allow the workers to come to work easily if they used to come by cars as now he thinks it will take them lesser time, this assumption is also flawed as he plans on connecting only the major downtown areas of the city, it may be that most of the workers stay in areas where the subway isn't connected to and still have to use thier own motorvehicles to commute to work or walk to work.

The mayor thinks he can reduce the trafic in te city by connecting it's major downtown areas by subway system which ease the trafic conditions of the city and eenable workers to commute to work easily, this assumption may prove unwarrented if we consider that traffic is caused in all of the town and not only in the major areas, and that most people dont stay in the downtown area but the midtown area, and commute to work in the outtown area. So they still have to take their cars or board busses to goto work. So, the subway syatem doesn't add any value to the problem and only becomes a waste of money.

He may build a new high tech subway system and people of the town may still now prefer ot over tradtional busses as it may be more expensive than the bus services, it may be that the new service is too costly and people don't turn to its aid. In this case the situation will remain same and may even worsen as the workers will keep taking the degrading bus services and being late for work and no increase in prodcutivity may take place.

The following factors show how even after adding a multi million dollar subway no clear economic growth is ensured in the city of Briggsville, one may argue that many of the workers get connected to their workplace increasing the efficienty of thier work as they waste less time in traffic, but no one can predict people would leave their habits and their perosnal cars for subway. People will not have sense of privacy in the subway whcih they have in their cars, they can take detours after work, which they can't in subway. So, in the following ways the assumption by the mayor if proved unwarrented, may collapse his dream of improving economy of his town.