The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

What is mentioned in the memorandum from the office of Mayor about how he could find a solution to the traffic jams, residents complaints, and the work productivity. The argument is rife of plenty of holes and unwarranted assumptions. The author should provide more explanations for the real situation before decide that Subway will tackle the current problem.

First of all, the argument states that subway will construct to pass most of major towns regardless the other parts of towns where could have a lot of residents. For example, if this subway passes through the capitals or big cities of the country, what about the other rural cities; if there are plenty of people live there and those often the most users for public transportations. In this case, those people will not be able to use the new subway to commute to their work and as cororally their complaints will be still extist. Thus, if the above scenario is valid; the drawn conclusion in the original argument will considerably wrong as in this case the residents’ complaints will not be solved.

Further, the argument assume that subway will be able to even to serve motorists as well and then they will leave their private cars to sue the subway. However, this is ungauranteed assumption because those people perhaps use their cars not only to commute to their works but also for several private destination. For example, if someone has a big family, will not be feasible to leave his car to use that subway, and then, the traffic will continue hold. Thus, the author should do a study or survey to know how many people can replace their own cars by subway, and how many families there in those towns where the subway will pass. Thus, if the above situation is true, the argument will significantly flawed.

Third, in the mentioned memorandum, the auther correlate the traffic with the productivity and assumes once the subway is constructed the productivity should be increased. However, to be able to assume such assumption, a form of systematic research study should be done first to figure out what are the real reasons behind the lessining in the productivity. For example, if someone does not enjoy what he works or has a problem in his salary or even his manger does not treat him well, there are several scenarios maybe behind the lack of productivity. For all what mentioned above the argument faild to be persuasive enough to cogent people that the subway will be the waited solution.

Inconclusion, the argument as it stands now if flawed because it rely on severak assumptions. Therefore, the author should provide a systematic research study to be feasible to evalute the argument effectively.