The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The board of directors of Monarch books recommend that the bookstore should open a cafe at it’s location in order to attract more customers. The recommendation cites the recent opening of cafe at Regal Books for this recommendation. Also, it further suggests that the cafe should be opened by discontinuing the children’s book section as the most recent national census indicates that there is a significant decline in children’s population under ten. However, further questions need to be answered inorder to determine the viability of the recommendation.

Has opening a cafe at Regal books attracted more customers? . The recommendation suggests that Monarch Books should open cafe to be better compete with Regal books as they have done so recently. But the Board of directors do not provide any evidence about increase in the number of customers at Regal Books. It is possible that there is no significant increase in the number of customers following the opening of a cafe at Regal Books. As people generally do not eat at book store it is highly unlikely that opening of cafe has significantly changed the number of customers. If this scenario holds true it, the recommendation is significantly weakened.

Is Regal Books and Monarch Books comparable? The recommendation cites Regal books as an example for opening up a cafe. But it needs to be ascertained whether the two book stores are comparable. As the recommendation suggests that Monarch books have a large customer base becuase it is known for it’s wide selection of books. Regal Books could be a niche bookstore which caters to certain genre, for example, Regal Books could be a comic book store which attracts teenagers only, and hence opening a cafe would make much more sense. Also, Regal Books could be located at remote location where the customers cannot easily find a place to eat. Hence, a thorough comparision needs to be done before acting up on the suggestion.

Is the decline in percentage of children population equvalent to decline in number of children under ten? The decline in percentage can also be atrributed to increase in the population of other age groups. For example, due to recent increase in migrants more people are added in the working class age group of the country. It needs to be also analysed if the decline in percentage has to led to decrease in the number of customers below the age of ten at book store, before it could be concluded whether to discontinue the children’s book section in order to open cafe.

In conclusion, the recommendation as it stands now is considerably flawed due to reliance on several unwarranted assumptions.if the author is able to answer the above three questions and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of a research comparison study between the two Bookstores) can it be ascertained whether opening a cafe is benficial for the Monarch Books.