The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Board of Directors decides to open a café in Monarch Books to increase attraction of costumers and be able to compete more with Regal Books. The board comes to this conclusion based on the observation of the Regal Books and other factors. Even the decision of the Board of Directors might be plausible, they must provide answer to these three questions to determine the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, Does the national census of children under ten be the immaculate indication of the children of the town where the book store is located? It might be possible that the children in the area where the store is located might have a greater number of children under ten year of age but due to decrease in number of children in other states caused to decrease in overall average of the population of the children. So, removing children section might cause more loss then the profit gained by starting the café. If this is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Moreover, Is the location of the Monarch Books in a convenient area where people can often come to sit and read. It is possible that Monarch Books is situated far from the current city area where people only go by compulsion to buy or rent book because it has wide variety of collection and the books may not be found elsewhere. Travelling a long distance just to sit and read is extremely aberrant. Also, the book store may be near to a factory or airport where there is much noise. So, simply sitting there for reading might be uncomfortable for the costumers. If this is the case, then the credibility of the conclusion of the argument is hindered.

Finally, Are the Monarch Books and Regal Books comparable? Perhaps Monarch Books have costumers who prefer taking the book to home rather than just sit there and read whole day whereas the Regal Books have more free customers who tend to sit in the store for reading than carrying the book to their place. In addition, the café organized by the Regal Books might be too good with its food quality, customer service and a wide and spacious place for people to sit and read without being disturbed by others which obviously cannot be provided by Monarch Books. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Thus, in conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide explanations to these three questions (based on a systematic study approach), then the viability of the recommendation can be fully evaluated.